{Christmas} Day 20: Ornament Exchange

December 21, 2011 § 2 Comments

I’ve been receiving an ornament each year since my 1st Christmas.  My mother made a point to give each one of us kids a new ornament to call our very own.  It was one of my favorite ways to reminisce about Christamas’ past.  Every year I looked forward to rediscovering each one as we decorated our tree.  And when the time came to leave home & marry off, I received my box of ornaments as a gift.  It was one of the most memorable wedding gifts I could possibly receive.

So now we’ve carried on the tradition in our own little family.  My husband & I have been exchanging ornaments since our first Christmas dating.  And now that we have our little one, we have one more person to buy for.

Last year my husband surprised me with a very sentimental ornament.  He purchased a silver marker & carefully wrote “Modern Cupcake” on the base of the mixer.  He was so proud!

So as I took the ornament out of the box this year & hung it on the tree, I realized this ornament has new meaning since first receiving it.  My first year with Modern Cupcake has provided an unexpectedly fun ride! I’ve had a year full of making cupcakes that people really truly enjoy.  I’ve made new friends that I wouldn’t have met otherwise and I was able to experience Martha Stewart’s headquarters & have my work published.  And now I’ve started my little blog.  I wonder what new meaning this ornament will provide next year, when I carefully unwrap it?

XOXO,

Jill

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to {Christmas} Day 20: Ornament Exchange

  • Jill that is what we do for our little one and I LOVE that your mom did this for you! This is what I wish for Lauren. To look back on all the years of ornaments and have love and fond memories. Hugs to you and hope you have a great Christmas with your family!

  • Rebekah, I always look forward to reading your kind comments! Fun! Now you have something to work towards & pass along to Lauren. 🙂 Have a blessed Christmas! Hopefully we can meet in 2012! xoxo

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading {Christmas} Day 20: Ornament Exchange at A Lifestyle Craving.

meta

