{Christmas} Day 13: Delicacies

December 13, 2011 § Leave a comment

I stopped dead in my tracks while at the local market the other day.  I could not believe my eyes!  There it was…Grandma’s Bake Shoppe – Fruit & Nut Dessert Cake out of Beatrice, Nebraska.  Now before you judge a book by it’s cover…I’m asking you to hear me out.

Let’s be honest, {Fruit Cake} has always had a bad wrap.  I proclaim myself as being a Foodie & let me tell you, this is something you don’t want to miss!  I admit, there are a lot of not-so-good fruit cakes out there, but this one stands alone.

Photography by Modern Cupcake

Growing up, this dessert was considered a delicacy in our home.  We’d partake once a year during the Christmas season.  My mother would surprise us with her purchase.  It’s very rich & very decadent.  It was always served chilled & presented after dinner.

Photography by Modern Cupcake

This particular recipe has been around since 1917.  It was a secret recipe brought to America from Europe.  If you are curious, go ahead & try it!

Click the following link for the Beatrice Bakery.

Bon appétit,

Jill

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading {Christmas} Day 13: Delicacies at A Lifestyle Craving.

meta

