{Design} Creative Sanctuary

October 21, 2011 § Leave a comment

My office has to find a new home.  We are in the midst of a renovation project which means our little one will soon occupy the once designated office. My current office space resides in the kitchen. I’ve functioned this way for awhile but realize this can’t be long term. Office in the kitchen translates to work always present.

In regards to the new office space, I’ve been daydreaming about the location, the function & the decor.  Bottom line, what I really desire is a {creative sanctuary}.  I need a space where I’m inspired, I can work efficiently & it must resonate beauty.

Photos via

When I’m working with a client for the first time & they are unsure of their style, I give them a homework assignment.  I ask them to pull photos of interior spaces that they admire for one reason or another.  The pictures should depict various spaces in the home.  When reviewing the photos with the client, we discuss the selections & why they were drawn to those.  9 out of 10 times, there is always an underlining theme that develops.

I used my office for this exercise.  I pulled several photos & this was the result. Do you see a repetitive theme?  Crisp white walls, a blend of materials & finishes, as well as pops of accent color.  I’m now in the beginning stages of developing a design for the office & let me just tell you, I’m very inspired!

XOXO,

Jill

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading {Design} Creative Sanctuary at A Lifestyle Craving.

meta

